The Masquerade

Foam Head (FH003)
Masquerade - Atlanta, GA United States 05-06-90
Total CD Time 53:50 / 16 Tracks
Matrix: RN97
Additional Artwork
63 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
27 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Love Buzz 2:24
2) Floyd The Barber 3:15
3) Scoff 4:19
4) Dive 4:00
5) School 3:14
6) Spank Thru 3:39
7) Breed 3:27
8) About A Girl 3:14
9) Big Cheese 4:50
10) Molly's Lips 2:15
11) Polly 2:41
12) Here She Comes Now 5:19
13) Been A Son 2:04
14) Stain 2:22
15) Negative Creep 3:13
16) Blew 3:34
The Masquerade

Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  96%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
This disc is really the 05-06-90 show, the 05-04-90 date on the cover is a mislabel. The recording is from the soundboard, however, the drums aren't mixed properly and sound like they might have been coming through one of the microphones. Chad sounds like he's hitting cardboard boxes and the cymbols sound muffled. The first track ("Love Buzz") starts from the middle of the song, and there is a pressing error that causes a blank span of 1 second towards the end of "Stain". There are also 2 places during "Love Buzz" where there is extra "crackle". These complaints aside, this is a very good disc.

The band had recorded at Smart Studios the previous month before this show. Krist announces one of the songs they had recorded, Dive, as something that will be on their upcoming album (at this time the tape was going to be put on a Sub Pop album). The set list is pretty good, and "Here She Comes Now" is a nice treat. Not a whole lot of talk (it may have been edited out), but you can hear a few things spoken. Kurt asks the audience to pogo during Molly's Lips.

As you have probably already noticed, the artwork is pretty tasteless. The 05-13-90 show has better sound and a better setlist. These shows take place at the very end of Chad Channings career with the band. This show also appears on "Across America." The sound quality is identical, but "Across America" contains fewer errors.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"Molly's Lips" Labeled As "Molly's Lies"
"Stain" Labeled As "I'm A Saint"

Other Disc(s) Containing This Date:
Masquerade - Atlanta, GA United States 05-06-90
   Across America

7624 hits since 9/3/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!