Live And Demo(n)s

Swindle Records (SWN 006/2)
The Palladium - Hollywood, CA United States 08-17-90
Rose Club - Koln Germany 11-08-89
Disc 1 - Total CD Time 55:33 / 18 Tracks
          Matrix: CD COMPANY ITALY SWN006/2/A
Disc 2 - Total CD Time 67:35 / 20 Tracks
          Matrix: CD COMPANY ITALY SWN006/2/CD2
Additional Artwork
17 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
16 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

Disc 1
1) Polly 2:49
2) Seed 2:12
3) Sappy 2:17
4) Blandest 3:50
5) Spank Thru 3:11
6) Downer 1:38
7) Hairspray Queen 3:57
8) Mexican Seafood 1:53
9) Moist Vagina 3:24
10) Marigold 2:37
11) Sappy 3:30
12) I Hate Myself And Want To Die 2:47
13) Very Ape 1:52
14) Rape Me 2:43
15) Scentless Apprentice 3:41
16) Heart-Shaped Box 4:34
17) Milk It 3:46
18) Radio Friendly Unit Shifter 4:42
Disc 2
1) Love Buzz 3:58
2) Floyd The Barber 2:48
3) Scoff 4:18
4) Dive 3:46
5) About A Girl 2:36
6) Spank Thru 3:43
7) Breed 3:36
8) In Bloom 4:13
9) School 3:21
10) Been A Son 1:49
11) Negative Creep 3:05
12) Blew 2:48
13) In Bloom 4:05
14) Floyd The Barber 2:42
15) Verse Chorus Verse 2:56
16) Polly 2:52
17) Big Cheese 3:43
18) Mr. Moustache 3:46
19) Even In His Youth 2:59
20) Help Me 2:42
Live And Demo(n)s

Nirvana Bootography Rating: F  12%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
It doesn't get much worse than this. The 2 CD set was generously given 12 points because it spelled "Nirvana" correctly. The biggest problem with this double CD set is that it's defective. A ten minute sampling of the set revealed "clicks" on most of the tracks. The "clicks" aren't little pops that could be overlooked... it's like playing a CD after you've rubbed it with sandpaper (at least a sanded CD might not make any noise... this set is TERRIBLE!!!).

As if the defects weren't enough, the artwork is among the worst of any commercial bootleg. The cover image is an out-of-focus picture of Kurt Cobain with some kind of funky yellow overlay on top of the photo. This overlay is what appears on disc one (without the blurry image behind it). The back is a stretched shadow image of Kurt that would be unrecognizable if it were not on a Nirvana CD. The image on the second CD is a duplicate of the back image, in even less detail.

Anyone who paid full price for one of these sets is probably angry. The Koln tracks don't appear on any other bootleg disc and had a lot of potential... the sound is good except for the "clicks". The 8/17/90 tracks sound like they've been through noise reduction. Buy "Love Buzz" for the 8/17/90 show... Swindle probably put the soundcheck AFTER the show just to be annoying. The 8/17/90 tracks "click" throughout the show.

The demos on the first disc can be found on many bootleg compilations, and buying "In Utero" demos in any form is a waste... the demos sound just like the actual release with extra hiss. There were 2 songs from the "In Utero Demos" that had vocals added and minor tweaking... it's very difficult to tell. The "In Utero Demos", as well as the '88 Demos (tracks 4-8) are not the best sounding recordings. Disc one contains "clicks" on the first three tracks as well. The only reason this disc is the "preferred" release for the 11/8/89 show over it's competitors is because it will actually PLAY in your CD player... the alternative discs might not even recognize the disc!

It is highly recommended that you avoid this set. Be careful when purchasing any "Swindle Records" releases, the label has a well deserved reputation for bad products.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"Seed" Labeled As "Molly's Lips"

Mislabels - Disc 2 :
"Sappy" Labeled As "Everything And Nothing"
"Moist Vagina" Labeled As "Marijuana"
"Marigold" Labeled As "I Want It All"
"Sappy" Labeled As "Make You Happy"
"I Hate Myself And Want To Die" Labeled As "Untitled Demo"
"Very Ape" Labeled As "Into The Dirt"
"Verse Chorus Verse" Labeled As "Aneurysm"
"Help Me" Labeled As "Never Mind"

Other Disc(s) Containing These Dates:
The Palladium - Hollywood, CA United States 08-17-90
    I Hate Myself and I Want to Die
   It Wasn't The First Time In History That A Monster Was Mistaken For A God
   Love Buzz
   Murder By Guitar
   At The Hollywood Palladium
    The Lost Concert
   CA Uberalles

Rose Club - Koln Germany 11-08-89
    I Hate Myself and I Want to Die
   It Wasn't The First Time In History That A Monster Was Mistaken For A God
   At The Hollywood Palladium

7382 hits since 9/7/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!