Never The Same Thing

Rupert (Rupert9661)
Compilation / Various
Total CD Time 73:12 / 22 Tracks
Matrix: Rupert 9661
Additional Artwork
15 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
15 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:29
2) Son Of A Gun 2:42
3) Molly's Lips 1:48
4) D-7 3:38
5) Sliver 2:14
6) Dive 3:52
7) Lithium 2:54
8) In Bloom 4:32
9) Breed 3:12
10) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 1:52
11) Sappy 3:28
12) D-7 2:30
13) Love Buzz 3:17
14) About A Girl 2:38
15) Polly 2:37
16) In Bloom 4:34
17) Breed 3:13
18) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:30
19) If You Must 4:25
20) Hairspray Queen 4:26
21) Love Buzz 3:14
22) About A Girl
Never The Same Thing

Nirvana Bootography Rating: D  68%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
A fairly average compilation sound wise, not the best... but then again I have heard worse. The artwork would have to be the best aspect of this title.

A big complaint would be that the track "Pay To Play" is on the disc three times. The first and third ones are the same and the second one is the same but they fade the song out during the middle. It seems like the editor got a little overzealous with his fade knob on a few of the other tracks as well which resulted in the "D" grade on this disc. Also "In Bloom" is on here twice and it's the same version except the second one was run through HEAVY noise reduction making it sound extremely flat and then they tried to pull the bass out and make it sound louder.

The version of "Son Of A Gun" is the one with the guitar into and not the one with the feedback intro that is featured on "Incesticide".

At the very beginning of "Sliver" there is a three second space before the song actually starts where you can hear a little feedback and someone says "ah" then no noise, then the song starts. Probably just another editing error.

About A Girl / Polly is taken from a radio broadcast. It figures that they cant get the editing right on this one either. Right after "About A Girl" finishes you hear some guy say "so" and then it cuts abruptly to "Polly" very annoying and they could of at least put it on two separate tracks.

So far the Rupert label hasn't really been making a good name for itself because it has been releasing already released stuff and in slightly lower quality. To the best of my knowledge the Rupert label is the latest "rebirth" of the Insect/Hawk label.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"Son Of A Gun" Labeled As "Turnaround"
"If You Must" Labeled As "Unknown"

4407 hits since 9/7/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!