LIVE NIRVANA BOOTOGRAPHY: The Demotapes (1988-1990)

Label: Kiss The Stone
Catalog Number:  (KTS530)
Recorded performance:  Compilation / Various

Runtime: 73:39 / 23 Tracks
Matrix: KTS 530 (96098205)
Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) If You Must 3:47
02) Downer 1:36
03) Floyd The Barber 2:06
04) Paper Cuts 3:49
05) Spank Thru 3:17
06) Beeswax 2:34
07) Pen Cap Chew 2:26
08) Aero Zeppelin 4:16
09) Beeswax 2:41
10) Mexican Seafood 1:52
11) Pen Cap Chew 2:32
12) Mr. Moustache 3:34
13) Blandest 3:53
14) Downer 1:41
15) Floyd The Barber 2:05
16) Paper Cuts 4:01
17) Spank Thru 3:27
18) Sifting 5:21
19) Lithium 4:14
20) Sappy 3:26
21) In Bloom 4:29
22) Breed 3:08
23) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:24
The Demotapes (1988-1990)

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  90%

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
This disc contains 3 demo tapes with tracks recorded in 1988 and 1990, apparently lifted from the first two discs of the "Into The Black" box set, perhaps with some additional remastering.

Tracks 1-11 and 14-17: 01/23/88, Reciprocal Studios, Seattle.
Tracks 12, 13 and 18: 06/11/88, Reciprocal Studios, Seattle.
Tracks 19-23: 04/90, Smart Studios, Madison.

Many of the tracks are the same recordings as available on official releases. Some of the songs are repeated and sound slightly different because they come from different tape sources.

KTS attempts to present more of an official-like product than other compilations, removing the hiss between the songs and inserting a few seconds of silence like an official release would do, but they also did things that are annoying to some collectors, such as fading some of the songs in and out and removing count-ins and other noises. Moreover, the first 3 drum beats of 'If You Must' are missing, 'Aero Zeppelin' is edited (the "chorus" riff is repeated 3 times instead of 4 the first time this part is played), 'Floyd The Barber' (track 15) is also edited, missing half of the bridge, there's a small skip somewhere in the second verse of 'Lithium', and a loud digital pop/noise towards the end of 'Sappy' which could be a pressing error.

The sound is very good throughout, but the above mentioned errors will disappoint some people. Only 8 of these songs are really unreleased material and it's recommended to get them from trading circles or on "Into The Black" if you absolutely want to get them on a commercial release. | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster