Label: Scorpio
Catalog Number:  (92-EF-12-103)
Recorded performance:  Compilation / Various

Runtime: 70:05 / 21 Tracks
Matrix: 92-EF-12-103 T204-14119 <01>
Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) Turnaround 2:42
02) Molly's Lips 1:48
03) D-7 3:41
04) Sliver 2:12
05) Dive 3:52
06) Lithium (Mix 6) 3:00
07) In Bloom 4:32
08) Breed 3:12
09) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 1:54
10) Sappy 3:28
11) D-7 2:30
12) Love Buzz 3:17
13) About A Girl 2:38
14) Polly 2:37
15) In Bloom 4:34
16) Breed 3:13
17) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:30
18) If You Must 4:24
19) Hairspray Queen 4:27
20) Love Buzz 3:14
21) About A Girl
Down With Me

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating: C  75%

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
Very little is known about this rare compilation disc. According to the Alternative CD Guide "Down with Me" was the first commercially available bootleg CD containing unreleased studio tracks. The Alternative CD Guide also claims this disc is on the "Scorpio" label, even though the name "Scorpio" doesn't appear on either the disc or inserts (there is no label name given), and that only 500 copies were pressed. This disc is about as rare as they come. It's believed that this disc first surfaced in 1992.

A number of the tracks on this CD can be found on "Incesticide" (This disc came out before Geffen released "Incesticide"). "Down with Me" was released just before Nirvana broke into the mainstream. Many of the tracks are better sounding than one might expect, considering all of this material was surfacing for the first time. After comparing some of the tracks, it's fairly certain Blue Moon ripped some tracks directly off of "Down with Me" when producing the legendary "Outcesticide" series.

The title "Down with Me" comes from the track mislabeling of "Dive." Three of the tracks are repeated and "About a Girl" and "Polly" share the last track. Listed below is a breakdown of where these tracks came from:

Tracks 1 - 3 - John Peel Session 10/21/90
Track 4 - Music Source Studios 07/11/90
Tracks 7 - 11 - Smart Studios April 1990
Tracks 12 - 14 - John Peel Session10/26/89
Tracks 15 -17 - Smart Studios April 1990 (same tracks as 7 - 11, but the sound quality isn't as good)
Tracks 18 & 19 - Reciprocal Studios 1/23/88
Tracks 20 & 21 - John Peel Session 10/26/89 (same tracks as 12 - 14, but the sound quality isn't as good)

It's strange that 3 of the tracks are duplicated, but from different tape sources (with varying sound quality). Even more odd is that "Sappy" and "If you Must" are both mislabeled as "Happy Hour"... they don't sound THAT much alike, do they?

This disc gets a C rating because there are better compilations available today. The novice collector who wants these tracks for the first time is better served getting a newer compilation disc. For the veteran collector who respects the bootleg pioneers were the FIRST to release unsurfaced material, it's very special... this disc can be considered the "godfather" of all the bootleg compilation discs that were to come.

"D-7" Labeled As "Straight As An Arrow"
"Sliver" Labeled As "Never Take Me Home"
"Dive" Labeled As "Down With Me"
"Sappy" Labeled As "Happy Hour"
"D-7" Labeled As "Straight As An Arrow"
"If You Must" Labeled As "Happy Hour" | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster