Label: Flashback World Productions
Catalog Number:  (Flashback 06.95.0266)
Recorded performance:  09-26-91 - The Moon - New Haven, CT United States

Runtime: 70:24 / 18 Tracks
Matrix: DURECO [02] FB 0266
Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam 4:04
02) Here She Comes Now 6:05
03) D-7 4:18
04) Aneurysm 4:49
05) Drain You 3:42
06) School 2:32
07) Floyd The Barber 2:30
08) About A Girl 2:54
09) Love Buzz 3:39
10) Smells Like Teen Spirit 4:38
11) Breed 2:45
12) Polly 2:52
13) Spank Thru 4:03
14) Sliver 3:19
15) Blew 7:33
16) Been A Son 1:58
17) Negative Creep 2:30
18) Endless, Nameless 6:04
Playing At The Moon

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  96%

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
"Playing at the Moon" contains a raw performance by the band just before they broke into the mainstream. The set list contains some nice rarities. Only 5 of the 18 songs performed came from the album that this tour was supporting (Nevermind). After Nevermind became popular, the set lists became a lot more standardized. The sound is unbearably bass heavy, I'd reccomend either of the other 2 discs of this show over this one.

The disc has a little editing after "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and "Breed." Otherwise, it seems to be complete. There are equipment problems throughout the show. "Here She Comes Now" is extended due to Kurt's guitar going out. Blew is performed twice (on the same track)... the band starts and Kurt's guitar goes out leaving Dave and Krist jamming on the song until Kurt is ready again. It sounds like Krist starts singing the lyrics at one point and does the chorus in a falsetto voice. The audience is great and there were some dedicated fans who knew to ask for songs like "Spank Thru" and one guy who yells "Donkey Show" several times... The band started saying "Donkey Show" on their 1989 tour in Europe as thank you (sounds like the German "Thank You" that I'm not going to try to spell).

This disc has the potential to be a favorite for any fan and is highly recommended. "Seattle Wa. September 21 1991" contains a better, less bass heavy, recording, but "Playing at the Moon" will make most collectors very happy.

"The Moon" has long since closed.

"Breed" Labeled As "Bleed"

Other Disc(s) Containing This Date:
09-26-91 - The Moon - New Haven, CT United States
   Grange Buffet
   Seattle, Wa. September 21, 1991 | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster