LIVE NIRVANA BOOTOGRAPHY: A Season In Hell Part 1 Disc 1

Label: Banzai
Catalog Number:  (BZBX 054)
Recorded performance:  11-25-90 - The Off Ramp Cafe - Seattle, WA United States

Runtime: 66:58 / 19 Tracks
Matrix: BZBX054
Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) Aneurysm 5:00
02) Oh, The Guilt 3:26
03) Mr. Moustache 3:25
04) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:30
05) Breed 2:59
06) Floyd The Barber 2:10
07) About A Girl 1:52
08) Verse Chorus Verse 4:06
09) In Bloom 3:37
10) Swap Meet 2:57
11) Been A Son 2:10
12) Stain 1:52
13) Blew 4:06
14) Sappy 3:37
15) Lithium 3:54
16) School 2:43
17) D-7 4:41
18) Here She Comes Now 4:40
19) Sliver 3:40
A Season In Hell Part 1 Disc 1

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating:

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
This show is AMAZING!!! Check out the setlist... not one or two rarities, half the show is made of songs that were rarely played!!! Kurt must have decided that they were going to change things up a little bit before the show... after all, they were playing in Seattle and I'm sure many of the audience members had already heard them play the regular songs... for whatever reason, they came out and played a Nirvana bootleggers dream. This show contains as many or more rarities than any other.

The show starts out with an early version of Aneurysm with alternate lyrics (One of the lines is "C'mon over and shoot the s*%t!!!! GAAAAAAAWD D#@*n!!!!). "Verse Chorus Verse" is momentarily interrupted by a guy talking, but I can't really complain otherwise (it's still the second best recording of the song). Before "Sliver" someone in charge of the club announce that it is 2:00 and all the alcohol has to disappear... 2:00 A.M!!! Krist thanks everyone for staying instead of slipping out to the 7-11 to buy beer. I would imagine that the band was at it's happiest at this time. They truly sound like they're having a good time, they had the freedom to come up with a bizarre setlist on a whim... it just sounds like they were having a blast. If I could choose any Nirvana show to attend, this would have been it. I've also seen internet rumors that there may have been an encore to this show... I don't know, but I wouldn't be surprised.

This disc is one of three discs in "A Season In Hell" part 1, however it is packaged seperately from the other two, so there's a slim chance you can pick it up by itself.

Overall this is an excellent audience recording. Some people might argue that I've graded this disc too highly. As someone who has listened to quite a few Nirvana shows, I recognize what a treat this recording is... even if it isn't soundboard. If you're buying something for sound quality, get Roma... if you want a once in a lifetime show and don't mind an audience recording, this is one of the best available.

Reader Reviews:
Rating: 95% - Submitted by Edward Solaris on 2000.11.26 12:10:24 AM
This is a very solid show from shortly after Dave joined the band. The early versions of the Nevermind songs are cool but the real treat for me is the Bleach songs played with Dave's power and precision. The version of Sappy (VCV) is the best I've ever heard next to the No Alt. version and this show contains some of Kurdt's best-ever solos. Here She Comes Now & In His Hands are also very good. The sound quality of the cd varies from song to song (the louder songs get lost in a sea of cymbals & distortion) but this is easily my favorite audience-recorded show.

"Verse Chorus Verse" Labeled As "Token Eastern Song"

Other Disc(s) Containing These Dates:
11-25-90 - The Off Ramp Cafe - Seattle, WA United States
   Live At The Off Ramp Cafe | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster