Label: Rupert
Catalog Number:  (Rupert9661)
Recorded performance:  Compilation / Various

Runtime: 73:12 / 22 Tracks
Matrix: Rupert 9661
Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:29
02) Son Of A Gun 2:42
03) Molly's Lips 1:48
04) D-7 3:38
05) Sliver 2:14
06) Dive 3:52
07) Lithium 2:54
08) In Bloom 4:32
09) Breed 3:12
10) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 1:52
11) Sappy 3:28
12) D-7 2:30
13) Love Buzz 3:17
14) About A Girl 2:38
15) Polly 2:37
16) In Bloom 4:34
17) Breed 3:13
18) Stay Away (Pay To Play) 3:30
19) If You Must 4:25
20) Hairspray Queen 4:26
21) Love Buzz 3:14
22) About A Girl
Never The Same Thing

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating: D  68%

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
A fairly average compilation sound wise, not the best... but then again I have heard worse. The artwork would have to be the best aspect of this title.

A big complaint would be that the track "Pay To Play" is on the disc three times. The first and third ones are the same and the second one is the same but they fade the song out during the middle. It seems like the editor got a little overzealous with his fade knob on a few of the other tracks as well which resulted in the "D" grade on this disc. Also "In Bloom" is on here twice and it's the same version except the second one was run through HEAVY noise reduction making it sound extremely flat and then they tried to pull the bass out and make it sound louder.

The version of "Son Of A Gun" is the one with the guitar into and not the one with the feedback intro that is featured on "Incesticide".

At the very beginning of "Sliver" there is a three second space before the song actually starts where you can hear a little feedback and someone says "ah" then no noise, then the song starts. Probably just another editing error.

About A Girl / Polly is taken from a radio broadcast. It figures that they cant get the editing right on this one either. Right after "About A Girl" finishes you hear some guy say "so" and then it cuts abruptly to "Polly" very annoying and they could of at least put it on two separate tracks.

So far the Rupert label hasn't really been making a good name for itself because it has been releasing already released stuff and in slightly lower quality. To the best of my knowledge the Rupert label is the latest "rebirth" of the Insect/Hawk label.

To hear the same source tape(s) in better quality and without the noise reduction avoid this release and get In Memory Of "Kurdt Kobain"

"Son Of A Gun" Labeled As "Turnaround"
"If You Must" Labeled As "Unknown" | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster