Label: Small Clone
Catalog Number:  (SC-NR-004)
Recorded performance:  10-23-93 - Aragon Ballroom - Chicago, IL United States

Disc 1 Runtime:  54:26 / 14 Tracks
Matrix: SC-NR-003 69925X IFPI L601
Disc 2 Runtime:  47:57 / 11 Tracks
Matrix: SC-NR-004 501976X IFPI L601

Additional Artwork

Disc 1
01) Radio Friendly Unit Shifter 4:27
02) Drain You 3:48
03) Breed 3:09
04) About A Girl 3:30
05) Heart-Shaped Box 4:58
06) Sliver 3:08
07) Dumb 3:07
08) In Bloom 4:59
09) Come As You Are 3:56
10) Pennyroyal Tea 3:37
11) School 3:37
12) Polly 3:05
13) Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam 5:15
14) Milk It 4:02
Disc 2
01) Rape Me 2:54
02) Territorial Pissings 2:48
03) Smells Like Teen Spirit 5:22
04) You Know You're Right 5:09
05) All Apologies 4:32
06) Something In The Way 4:08
07) Scentless Apprentice 4:03
08) On A Plain 3:59
09) Blew 2:51
10) Endless, Nameless 10:10
11) Secret - (Phone Message) 1:55
The Sermon On The Mount

Live Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  91%

Live Nirvana Bootography Review:
This is an average audience recording... fairly consistant, but not the greatest sound in the world. So why would anyone spend big bucks on a double CD with an average audience recording?? 2 reasons... This is the only commercial bootleg containing the only surfaced recording of "You Know You're Right," AND it's a very tough find.

The Small Clone label is probably the best bootleg label I know of for finding obscure and valuable Nirvana recordings. Unfortunately, Small Clone is a Japanese label and their boots are usually hard to find. This disc set gets part of it's "A" rating due to it's relatively high value in collectors circles.

Other things to note are the fact that this is a complete recording of the show. There is a blank span of a few seconds on the first disc immediately after the bands introduction and "About A Girl" gets muddy at one point. The last track is something you won't find anywhere else. The last track is a phone message recording of Kurt Cobain. The tape is a tad slow, but you can tell it's Kurt. He sounds drunk/stoned and pissed. Apparently he's speaking to a reporter he's not very happy with.

This is not a disc for the beginning collector. Nirvana fans who have a decent collection will appreciate a rare recording of a complete show despite the audience recording sound. "You Know You're Right" isn't found on many bootlegs. I highly recommend this version.

This was probably the first Small Clone Disc to be Re-issued (or counterfeited -depending on your opinion!) probably because it features "You Know You're Right" the reissue surfaced ca.2002, the reissue/counterfeit has cardboard inserts and the Matrix is SC-NR-003 / SC-NR-004 (Missing "IFPI L601") Track times and sound quality are identical to the original.

Mislabels - Disc 2 :
"You Know You're Right" Labeled As "I'm A Mountain" | all documents, unless otherwise noted, © 2001 - Present | Contact webmaster